Saturday, February 24, 2024

Australia trip up favourites India to win first Under-19 World Cup title in 14 years | Sport

Must read

Ausralia returned to the Under-19 Cricket World Cup winner’s podium for the first time in 14 years after their win over India. (Image: Sydney Seshibedi/Gallo Images)

  • Australia broke India’s Under-19 World Cup stranglehold with a convincing 79-run win in the final at Willowmoore Park in Benoni on Sunday to snare their first title in 14 years.
  • It was an excellent group effort from Australia that saw them overcome an early loss to out-bat and out-bowl an India side that was considered as favourites.
  • The success was Australia’s fourth as they made the highest team score in the history of Under-19 World Cup finals history.
  • For more, please visit News24 Sports’ home page.

Australia broke India’s Under-19 World Cup stranglehold with a convincing 79-run win in the final that took place at Willowmoore Park in Benoni on Sunday to collect their fourth title and their first since 2010.

Given first use of what was a sporting and used surface, a collective batting display that comfortably dealt with the early loss of star batter Sam Konstas (0) allowed Australia to post 253/7 in their 50 overs.

They bowled out India for 179 to inflict India’s first Under-19 World Cup loss since the 2020 Under-19 World Cup final when they were beaten by Bangladesh in Potchefstroom.

The score is the highest in Under-19 World Finals history and was going to take some overhauling, especially with Australia not putting together partnerships, but having their batters make the runs at different stages of the game.

Harjas Singh (55) came good for Australia at the right time with other contributions from captain Hugh Weibgen (48), Oliver Peake (46), and Harry Dixon (42).

India was steady in their bowling, with Saumy Pandey (1/41), Musheer Khan (1/46) holding up the fort with spin while Raj Limbani (3/38) and Naman Tiwary (2/63) bowled well up front.

India’s sedate start got the better of them as they couldn’t quite shake off the early loss of Arshin Kulkarni (3)

Panic stations were well and truly on when Khan (22) and captain Uday Saharan (8) fell to man-of-the-match Mahli Beardman (3/15) as India slipped to 55/3 after 17 overs.

The loss of Sachin Dhas (9) to Raf McMillan (3/43) to leave India at 68/4 after 19.1 overs meant India’s much-vaunted middle order was in danger of blowing out.

The blow-out indeed took place when Priyanshu Moliya (9) and Aravelly Avanish (0) fell in consecutive overs as India limped to 91/6 in 26 overs.

When top scorer Adarsh Singh (47) fell in the 31st over to leave India at 115/7, the writing was well and truly on the wall, with Limbani’s (0) wicket the next over confirming the obvious.

Murugan Abhishek (42) kept interest in the game alive but when he and Pandey (2) fell to McMillan and Tom Straker (1/32), Australia’s 14-year drought was ended.

Scores in brief:

Australia: 253/7 (Harjas Singh 55, Hugh Weibgen 48, Oliver Peake 46, Harry Dixon 42, Raj Limbani 3/38, Naman Tiwary 2/63, Saumy Pandey 1/41, Musheer Khan 1/46)

India: 174 (Adarsh Singh 47, Murugan Abhishek 42, Khan 22, Mahli Beardman 3/15, Raf McMillan 3/43, Callum Vidler 2/35)

Australia won by 79 runs

Latest article